23 new Marine Conservation Zones for England

The UK Government has announced the creation of 23 new Marine Conservation Zones (MCZs) around the coast of England.

These zones are the second of three tranches of sites to be considered for protection as part of a larger project to create a coherent network of marine protected areas around the coast of the UK. The first tranche of 27 MCZs were allocated in 2013. A final tranche will be proposed later in 2016, consulted on in 2017 and designated in 2018.

Wales and Northern Ireland are also undertaking a similar processes to allocate protected areas in their territorial waters, as are Scotland.

The 50 MCZs around the English coast, cover 7,886 square miles and protect 45 different species, habitats, geological features and geomorphology.

They are spread around the English coastline from the coast of Northumberland through Land’s End to Cumbria.

The 23 new Marine Conservation Zones are:

North Sea
Fulmar, Farnes East, Coquet to St Mary’s, Runswick Bay, Holderness Inshore, Cromer Shoal Chalk Beds

South East
The Swale Estuary, Dover to Deal, Dover to Folkestone, Offshore Brighton, Offshore Overfalls, Utopia, The Needles

South West
Western Channel, Mounts Bay, Runnel Stone, Newquay and The Gannel, Hartland Point to Tintagel, Bideford to Foreland Point, North-West of Jones Bank, Greater Haig Fras

Irish Sea
West of Walney, Allonby Bay

Category: UK Government News

Comments are closed.